Black Dog


Unconditional, despite the blows,
I am but your dog, demanding of your time
Not mute, but short lived,
I chain my neck to your hand
Dragging you into open spaces
Yet, as I look into your eyes,
I still feel small, not really touching your heart,
Not really making things right
You cannot give yourself to this
Novocaine girlfriend, my alien race
But retain this, this time will pass and
You will be alone once more.
Fond, but distant, you observe my
Tricks and follies
With the air of a remote
Indulgent master
Yet I am
Unconditional, despite the blows

2 Comments on “Black Dog”

  1. epicswife says:

    Very touching !!! As a dog lover I really understand this !! Nicely done 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

