Propaganda watch : Breastfeeding


On the subject of breastfeeding, as it seems to be in the news today (why?): Before I got on the internet in Y2K it had honestly never once occurred to me in my life that anyone might conceivably have a problem with anyone breastfeeding their baby.

I breastfed my baby for three years between 1994 and 1997 and I’d do it on demand, whenever, wherever, in the street, in the pub, in a restaurant, in a store, and also at home in front of my parents & friends and friends of friends.

You know NOT ONCE in all of that time did I EVER meet with a negative attitude about it from anyone, no weirdness, no staring, no averted gazes either. On the contrary, people would come up and chat, acting like I was an old friend and not a stranger. Old men, young men, old women, young women, children… all seemed to find me 100% more approachable. Some old boys would come up and say how awesome it was, and it reminded them of how their own mothers were openly breastfeeding way back in the 1920s and 30s and it wasn’t a big deal.. When there was no “Scientific Formula” alternative people just accepted breastfeeding as a normal part of life. This is what these older folks were telling me. Quite the opposite of what we are now being led to believe how women used to hide away. It blows my mind that young women now are worrying if it is ok to whip out a tit to feed their babies. It is OK… The sort of asshat who is going to give you a hard time about it is really not worth the least amount of consideration, I say again … ANY ONE WHO HAS A PROBLEM WITH IT IS THE ONE WITH A PROBLEM.

Like I said I never had a single problem from anyone. and I wonder how much of the modern day weirdness about breastfeeding has been whipped up by the media, funded by big business and…., it seems almost too obvious, the producers of these chemical alternatives. Kerching!!!

Oh, and I am NOT an exhibitionist,. I’ve never even owned a bikini or a sleeveless shirt, or a boob tube, or shorts. I prefer to keep covered up, but for this one exceptional circumstance that means you do have to show a bit more skin than usual

Leave a Reply

